Archive | 23:31

The Illustrated Man

2 Feb

Ink sketch. Man and tattoos.

 

Not an original blog title – I remember the film with Rod Steiger – but it seemed apt. This is a friend of ours who has fabulous tribal tattoos covering half of his body and I’ve been wanting to draw them for ages so we fixed a time for him to drop down to my studio. Unfortunately it was the coldest day of the winter so far today. I borrowed another artist’s convector heater to work alongside my fan heater to try and get the studio warm and when my model arrived yet another artist lent me her directional heater and between the three, and a nice hot cup of coffee, we managed about an hour and a half. I did a few quick, warm-up ink sketches into my little ‘cat’ sketchbook [ the one I had for Xmas] and then I worked in graphite, charcoal and white gouache onto an A2 piece of cardboard I had previously primed with rabbit skin glue. I’ve never worked on cardboard before but I’ve been studying Toulouse-Lautrec’s technique recently [I'm a big fan] and he did loads in cardboard and gouache. The piece on cardboard is nowhere near finished but I have enough visual information from my sketches to do a lot more work into it, before I need my pal to come back for another sitting.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,373 other followers

